HomeBreaking NewsShelly Oberoi as AAP Party Candidate Defeats BJP to Become Delhi Mayor.

Shelly Oberoi as AAP Party Candidate Defeats BJP to Become Delhi Mayor.

Delhi deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia congratulated Shelly Oberoi for winning the mayoral election, minutes after the voting process concluded at the Civic Centre.

Shelly Oberoi of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won the mayoral election on Wednesday, days after the Supreme Court ruled that nominated members will not participate in the voting process. Oberoi received 150 votes compared to Rekha Gupta of the BJP, who received 116. Manish Sisodia, the deputy chief minister of Delhi, congratulated Shelly Oberoi on her victory in the mayoral race and declared that “the public won, the goons lost.”

He expressed his gratitude to the Delhins in a tweet in Hindi, writing, “Many congratulations to all the workers on Aam Aadmi Party’s mayor in Municipal Corporation of Delhi and once again wholehearted gratitude to the people of Delhi.” Congratulations to the first Mayor, many times over.”

also read:-M. Night Shyamalan ‘Knock at the Cabin’ Gets Digital Release.

Arvind Kejriwal, the chief minister of Delhi and the national convener of the AAP, congratulated the people of Delhi on Oberoi’s victory in the mayoral election and echoed Sisodia’s remark that “goons lost, public won.” In accordance with the top court’s Friday ruling, Oberoi then presided over the remaining elections, including those for the deputy mayor and six members of the influential standing committee.

Aaley Mohammed Iqbal of the AAP won the position of deputy mayor with 147 votes, defeating Kamal Bagri of the BJP who received 116 votes. Two ballots were ruled to be invalid.

With the election of the mayor,

Special Officer Ashwini Kumar held the position of deliberative wing authority from May 22, 2022, to February 22, 2023.

“I can assure you all that I will govern this House in accordance with the law. I anticipate that all of you will uphold the House’s honour and assist in making it run smoothly “After assuming the position of mayor, she said.

The AAP had emerged as a clear winner in the MCD polls held on December 4 last year, bagging 134 wards and ending the BJP’s 15-year rule in the civic body. The BJP won 104 wards to finish second, while the Congress won nine seats in the 250-member municipal House.


Most Popular